Happiness

What makes me happy, living with “my” MS, is the effect it has had on people around me. These people are my husband, our four sons and my friends that I have made in their school playground. I am also in contact with my school friends who I talk to on the phone.

As it is four hundred years since Shakespeare died, one friend took me to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” which I acted in at school; I was Demetrius and Pringle was an unforgettable Bottom! I don’t think we knew about being in love then, but seeing it now does make a difference!

I have been comforted by the fact that my father brought me up saying “Life isn’t fair”; I know that, now I can’t walk or write, but my situation is relieved by my friends coming to visit me regularly, and Adrian comes twice a week. My brother and sisters also come regularly and I speak with my sons on the phone.

I’m trying to show people why I don’t get depressed: depression has never been part of my make-up. I think I can thank my parents for giving me a good-enough start to life.

My next piece will be on the complexities of my life….

 

Mary Smith   19th May 2016

This entry was posted in Family, Happy Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

