My Operation

I thought followers of my blog might be interested to know how I have been recently.

The significant thing that has happened is that on the 16th June I had an operation to remove my Baclofen pump. Up until then the pump, which I had had for several years, had given me a certain amount of Baclofen (an antispasmodic) continuously. It was situated in the right-hand side of my tummy and it was beginning to push its way out through my skin; this was causing it to have bacteria which were infecting the catheter at the back of my spine. My consultant, Dr Weiss, said that in two months’ time, when the bacteria should have gone, she will be able to replace it with a more modern pump which is smaller and she will put it on the left side of my tummy.

Now that the Baclofen is no longer administered by the pump, I have it orally in pill form and the dose has been reduced from 800mg to 100mg daily; I am finding it much less effective and this has caused me to have annoying spasms in my legs which, however, are less dramatic and less painful than the spasms I had originally, and they last for a very short time.

The operation caused me no pain in the front or back of my tummy where the incisions were. The general anaesthetic and the pain-killing drugs I must have had, caused me to feel quite confused, and my eyesight became blurred; my right eye was good but my left eye was jumpy and could not focus; also, I sometimes used the wrong word to describe things. Now I am finding that I am less confused, my speech is better, and my left eye is improving though it still jumps about a bit.

I had the operation at St Michael’s hospital in Hayle, which was where I originally went to have the pump put in, and I spent two nights there. It had been suggested that I should move to a different room in Amberley House, and that my things would be moved while I was away having the operation. The new room did have double French windows and also two smaller windows which, people pointed out, allowed more natural light to come in, but it had a lower ceiling which made it feel quite claustrophobic to me, and the lack of wall-space for my pictures made me feel it didn’t suit me. People said it was my choice, and I felt I would choose to stay in my room, which I have always made mine by bringing the pictures and familiar furniture from home into the room. I was pleased to have made this decision, and I was very glad to come back to my old familiar room.

I have not had any adverse effects since the operation, and have recovered fully from the feelings of confusion. I am hoping that Dr Weiss will contact me soon and tell me when the next pump is going to be put in.

Mary Smith     23rd July 2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

